PDA

View Full Version : Introducing new German chat! - Deutscher Chat



hyde7
20th June 2011, 18:57
Some of you may remember our old chat room. Our AboutGerman.net chat room has been closed for some time now, but we are having a grand re-opening this Wednesday (June 22). Uwe Hagenbruck is our new chat moderator. The chat room is intended for anyone wishing to learn and practice German – or to just chat in German. It is related to this Learn German Forum. Your new chat host, Uwe, and I invite you to join us for discussions in German and/or about German at the scheduled times. Our chatters drop in from all over the world. The only thing they have in common is an interest in the German language and culture. See the schedule (http://www.aboutgerman.net/agn-german-chat-schedule.htm) for the appointed times!

In order to participate in the new chat room, you have to be a member of our Yahoo Groups German Way Expat Forum. If you are not already a registered member, you can sign up for free here (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/german-way/):

For more information about the new chat room, see the link below...

Chat: http://www.aboutgerman.net/agn-german-chat.htm

superkat
21st June 2011, 07:18
Zeitverschiebung ist doof :(

hyde7
21st June 2011, 10:51
Zeitverschiebung ist doof :(
Recht hast du, Kat... und wir haben den Zeitplan schon ergänzt. Nun haben wir Chat auch um...

19:00 Uhr MEZ (7:00 pm CET) - speziell für die Europäer!

http://www.aboutgerman.net/agn-german-chat-schedule.htm

superkat
22nd June 2011, 07:59
Recht hast du, Kat... und wir haben den Zeitplan schon ergänzt. Nun haben wir Chat auch um...

19:00 Uhr MEZ (7:00 pm CET) - speziell für die Europäer!

http://www.aboutgerman.net/agn-german-chat-schedule.htm
...ähmmm, stand das wirklich schon die ganze Zeit da? Ich glaube, ein Termin beim Augenarzt ist vielleicht fällig... :o

hyde7
22nd June 2011, 11:09
...ähmmm, stand das wirklich schon die ganze Zeit da? Ich glaube, ein Termin beim Augenarzt ist vielleicht fällig... :o
Nein, das war neu, nachdem ich dem Moderator gesagt habe, wir bräuchten günstigere Zeitpunkte für die Europäer. Aber du hast heute doch gefehlt.:(

Nicki
22nd June 2011, 11:55
Das paßt zwar gar nicht hierher, aber ich wünsche alles Gute zum Geburtstag! :)

Dominique

superkat
22nd June 2011, 12:45
Nein, das war neu, nachdem ich dem Moderator gesagt habe, wir bräuchten günstigere Zeitpunkte für die Europäer. Aber du hast heute doch gefehlt.:(
Sorry! Ich wollte eigentlich mit von der Partie sein, aber es ist ja gerade Wimbledon, und da es heute Nachmittag in Strömen gegossen hat, hat das Murray-Spiel ein paar Stunden später als geplant stattgefunden und sich deshalb zeitlich mit dem Chat überschnitten. Wenn ich nicht vor der Glotze gehockt hätte (so als Glücksbringer), hätte der Murray bestimmt nicht gewonnen, und das hätte ich mir NIE verzeihen können!! ;) Aber morgen bin ich auf jeden Fall dabei!

Übrigens: auch von mir alles Liebe und Gute zum Geburtstag!

hyde7
22nd June 2011, 14:52
Das paßt zwar gar nicht hierher, aber ich wünsche alles Gute zum Geburtstag! :)
Vielen Dank, Dominique!

hyde7
22nd June 2011, 14:57
Gute Ausrede, Kat... und danke für die Geburtstagswünsche! Ich habe nur eine Frage für dich: Wer ist denn das auf deinem Avatar?

superkat
23rd June 2011, 11:03
Gute Ausrede, Kat... und danke für die Geburtstagswünsche! Ich habe nur eine Frage für dich: Wer ist denn das auf deinem Avatar?
Kein Problem, hoffentlich hattest du einen schönen Geburtstag!

Der Typ auf meinem Avatar ist niemand weniger als die Poplegende Morrissey, in den 80er Jahren als Frontmann der (ebenso legendären!) Gruppe "The Smiths" (aber auch für seine stattliche Haartolle ;)) bekannt, heutzutage noch als Solokünstler tätig. "Heaven Knows I'm Miserable Now"? "This Charming Man"? Klingelt's? ;) Wenn nicht, dann schäm dich! :p (Wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morrissey))

Übrigens: als ich heute versucht habe, dem Chat beizutreten, wurde folgende Fehlermeldung angezeigt: "Chat is currently unavailable. Try again later." Habe ich mich irgendwie in der Zeit vertan? Ich hab's ja ein paar Mal versucht, aber da geht offenbar nichts.

Heide
24th June 2011, 12:18
I've been getting the same message that Kat got the other day. I tried last night and again this afternoon and I know the room is open right now because Nicki and I have been sending messages back and forth about it. I've been a member of Yahoo chat for some time, and when I sign in to that last page where the 'chat' button is, my name shows as: Welcome Ethel, so I know I'm logged in okay. However, when I click on that 'chat' button, i get the message about chat being unavailable and to try again later. Any suggestions?

superkat
24th June 2011, 12:47
Yeah, I'm still getting it too. Sad times! I also don't like the fact that Yahoo kept shoving error messages in my face and not letting me change any settings until I gave it free reign to share my details with whatever other applications it wanted, but this is (alas!) probably outside your dominion, Hyde ;)

hyde7
25th June 2011, 12:44
Hi Kat,

Hatte keine Ahnung, dass das Morrissey ist. (Am Anfang habe ich gedacht, dass das eine Abbildung von dir wäre!) Kenne zwar Musik aus den 80ern, aber The Smiths nicht so sehr. (Vielleicht, wenn ich ein paar Songs von denen hören würde.) Danke für die Erklärung!

Betreff. Chat: Ich war gestern im chat room (Nicki war auch dabei!) – ohne Probleme. Wenn es so einen Fehlermeldung gibt, warte nur ein bisschen ab und versuch's noch mal. (Ich weiß, du hast das ja schon gemacht.) Ist vermutlich nur vorübergehend ein Problem bei Yahoo. Chat ist immer offen – auch wenn kein Moderator dabei ist. Wenn Chat geschlossen ist, sieht man "Chat" überhaupt nicht im Menü (ganz unten). Ich selbst habe nie so einen Fehlermeldung gesehen. (Knock on wood!) Wenn du weiter Schwierigkeiten hast, dann gibt es andere Probleme irgendwo, irgendwie. Bitte sag's mir, wenn das der Fall ist.

superkat
25th June 2011, 13:01
(Am Anfang habe ich gedacht, dass das eine Abbildung von dir wäre!)
Komm jetzt, red doch keinen Unsinn, das sieht mir nicht mal ansatzweise ähnlich!!! Ich habe nämlich einen knallroten Vollbart. ;)


(Vielleicht, wenn ich ein paar Songs von denen hören würde.)
Dein Wunsch ist mir selbstverständlich Befehl! Hier mal ein paar bekannte Lieder: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kGnjrTkv1gs http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5b_V68mQ9k http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SfkvPnjb9hs :)


Betreff. Chat: Ich war gestern im chat room (Nicki war auch dabei!) – ohne Probleme. Wenn es so einen Fehlermeldung gibt, warte nur ein bisschen ab und versuch's noch mal. (Ich weiß, du hast das ja schon gemacht.) Ist vermutlich nur vorübergehend ein Problem bei Yahoo. Chat ist immer offen – auch wenn kein Moderator dabei ist. Wenn Chat geschlossen ist, sieht man "Chat" überhaupt nicht im Menü (ganz unten). Ich selbst habe nie so einen Fehlermeldung gesehen. (Knock on wood!) Wenn du weiter Schwierigkeiten hast, dann gibt es andere Probleme irgendwo, irgendwie. Bitte sag's mir, wenn das der Fall ist.
Tcha. Das ist ja alles ganz merkwürdig, ich habe es nun schon etliche Male versucht, und jedes Mal ist mir dieselbe Fehlermeldung ins Auge gestochen, ich habe es noch gar nicht bis in den Chatroom geschafft. Bäh. Glaubst du, es wäre eventuell den Versuch wert, mich da neu anzumelden?

hyde7
25th June 2011, 14:06
Tcha. Das ist ja alles ganz merkwürdig, ich habe es nun schon etliche Male versucht, und jedes Mal ist mir dieselbe Fehlermeldung ins Auge gestochen, ich habe es noch gar nicht bis in den Chatroom geschafft. Bäh. Glaubst du, es wäre eventuell den Versuch wert, mich da neu anzumelden?
Das Problem liegt vermutlich an... (1) deinem Computer, (2) deinem ISP oder (3) irgendwo anders (und nicht bei Yahoo – oder doch?). Da ich kein computer geek bin, kann ich nicht genau sagen, aber ich habe nie dieses Problem gehabt (und andere waren auch im Chat). Ich hoffe, dass du irgendwann vorbei kommen kannst. (I enjoy your sense of humor greatly.) Wäre schade, wenn du es nicht schaffst!

Ich glaube, neu anzumelden lohnt sich nicht. Wenn du auf die GW Yahoo Groups-Seite kommst (und Beiträge lesen kannst), dann hat deine ID wahrscheinlich nichts damit zu tun. Das Problem beginnt nur, wenn du auf "Chat" klickst, oder? Erst dann eine Fehlermeldung? (Ich korrigiere mich selbst.)

Ich werde nun The Smiths anhören. Danke.

hyde7
25th June 2011, 14:16
Just listened to the 3 Smith songs you linked to... I have never heard any of them. :( Unlike the Beatles (and many other British groups), I don't think the Smiths ever made it across the Big Pond. If they did, I missed it. Sorry.

Heide
25th June 2011, 15:29
Das Problem liegt vermutlich an... (1) deinem Computer, (2) deinem ISP oder (3) irgendwo anders (und nicht bei Yahoo – oder doch?). Da ich kein computer geek bin, kann ich nicht genau sagen, aber ich habe nie dieses Problem gehabt (und andere waren auch im Chat). Ich hoffe, dass du irgendwann vorbei kommen kannst. (I enjoy your sense of humor greatly.) Wäre schade, wenn du es nicht schaffst!

Ich glaube, neu anzumelden lohnt sich nicht. Wenn du auf die GW Yahoo Groups-Seite kommst (und Beiträge lesen kannst), dann hat deine ID wahrscheinlich nichts damit zu tun. Das Problem beginnt nur, wenn du auf "Chat" klickst, oder? Erst dann eine Fehlermeldung? (Ich korrigiere mich selbst.)

Ich werde nun The Smiths anhören. Danke.

I'm having the same problem as Kat. I can click on the chat button, but get the message that the Chat is currently unavailable. I wonder if other people are also getting that message. Although you, the host and Nicki were there, maybe others tried and were unsuccessful in getting in. I've never had a problem before with any chat rooms, although I haven't tried a Yahoo chat for several years. I tried it yesterday with both my PC and my Laptop, so I doubt that the problem is with the computer. I also tried it with both Firefox and IE; neither worked. :(

hyde7
25th June 2011, 15:49
I'm having the same problem as Kat. I can click on the chat button, but get the message that the Chat is currently unavailable. I wonder if other people are also getting that message. Although you, the host and Nicki were there, maybe others tried and were unsuccessful in getting in. I've never had a problem before with any chat rooms, although I haven't tried a Yahoo chat for several years. I tried it yesterday with both my PC and my Laptop, so I doubt that the problem is with the computer. I also tried it with both Firefox and IE; neither worked. :(
I was afraid of that. I had heard that at least a few others had this problem, but I was hoping it was an isolated thing. Apparently not. :(

Now I'm truly mystified about the possible cause. I'll try to contact Yahoo support, but they have not really been that helpful in the past. :mad: I'm beginning to think it IS a Yahoo problem of some kind, but who knows. I'll do what I can. We really don't want people getting blocked!

patman
25th June 2011, 16:07
I've been able to get in to the Chat twice with no problem. Only thing I had to do was switch Noscript to allow all scripts. Otherwise I just saw a blank screen, but never any error message.

Pat

hyde7
25th June 2011, 16:30
I've been able to get in to the Chat twice with no problem. Only thing I had to do was switch Noscript to allow all scripts. Otherwise I just saw a blank screen, but never any error message.
Thanks, Pat. Maybe others will find that helpful. (But I have to ask: What is "Noscript"?)

I saw you were in chat a while back. Sorry I missed you. You don't live that far from Reno. Where are you?

hyde7
25th June 2011, 16:32
Danke, Nicki. Schön mit dir im Chat zu reden.

superkat
26th June 2011, 01:34
I've been able to get in to the Chat twice with no problem. Only thing I had to do was switch Noscript to allow all scripts. Otherwise I just saw a blank screen, but never any error message.

Pat
Good thought, but that's not the problem with me (if anything, I actively encourage a good bit of script! ;)) - I don't have Noscript installed and I can see the chat box, but it looks like this: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17487286/screeny.png (well, roughly ;))

I was wondering whether it could possibly be because I signed up using my Google account? I'll sign up again later and make a Yahoo account (ugh)! (By the way, the problem transcends computers and browsers for me too, alas)

Heide
26th June 2011, 03:11
Good thought, but that's not the problem with me (if anything, I actively encourage a good bit of script! ;)) - I don't have Noscript installed and I can see the chat box, but it looks like this: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/17487286/screeny.png (well, roughly ;))

I was wondering whether it could possibly be because I signed up using my Google account? I'll sign up again later and make a Yahoo account (ugh)! (By the way, the problem transcends computers and browsers for me too, alas)

That's the screen that I see – well, almost. I tried a different Yahoo chat last night and had no problem at all getting in. (I did have a problem getting out since someone wanted to chat and it was already past my bedtime. :D)

I'm wondering if it's because I have one username for Yahoo and a different one for the forum. Yahoo won't take my "Heide" user name.

I don't have Noscript either.

If you do get in, please let me know what you did. :)

Update from Florida. I still can't get into chat, :( so it's not likely my server.

hyde7
26th June 2011, 13:33
At this point (after seeing Kat's screen shot [lustig, Kat!] and reading various emails & posts) I'm beginning to think it may have to do with having a Yahoo ID (with a Yahoo email account). I checked to see the IDs for two AGN forum people who I know were able to use the new chat room. Both have a Yahoo email account.

So my question now is this: Is there anyone without a Yahoo email ID who has been able to access our new Yahoo chat? If not, that may be the problem. If this turns out to be the case, then I will revise the registration instructions to say that new chat members must sign up with a Yahoo email address. Since that is free, it's not a problem – other than adding one more hurdle, however slight, to the sign-up process.

Ethel, what is your Yahoo ID? (So I can look it up.) If you were able to get into any Yahoo chat, then you also should be able to get into ours – so I'm still a bit puzzled.

Comments?

hyde7
26th June 2011, 13:37
Kat, please do try to access chat with a Yahoo account (despite the "ugh"). That may be the problem. (I'm running out of possible causes at this point.)

windz
26th June 2011, 18:56
Hello Hyde,

just to inform you that I have no problem accessing the chatroom with a Yahoo account. There was nobody in the chatroom, of course (I just logged in this morning, when probably every other member in the forum is fast asleep due to the time difference!), but I could see my nickname listed in the Active User column and was also able to view the chat history.

Lee

hyde7
26th June 2011, 20:53
Thanks for that info, Lee.

windz
27th June 2011, 09:47
Oh, and one more thing: I managed to replicate the error that Ethel and Kat are getting. If I create an alias for my Yahoo account and log into the chatroom using the alias instead of my primary Yahoo-ID, then the "Chat is unavailable"-error appears. If I log in using my primary ID, then the chatroom works just fine.

hyde7
27th June 2011, 10:48
Lee, forgive my ignorance, but what do you mean by "create an alias for my Yahoo account"? I know what an alias is in computing, but I'm not sure why I would create an alias for an email account (other than to be anonymous?). Could you explain that for me?

The bottom line seems to be: In order to access our new chat room, a user must (1) be registered with a Yahoo! Mail account, and (2) log in using that account and not an alias.

Robin
27th June 2011, 11:14
Yahoo is insane. They keep asking me to register yet again and again, I can't join the group, can't click chat. I am logged in, but it fails to accept me. When I click "Join the group" I get asked to create a profile. On that page I can add another e-mail address or an alias, and there's a button "close". When I click on "close", no profile is created. Even adding another e-mail address isn't helping. Noscript is off for all pages. It's simply impossible to join the group.

Trying to use the account from Chromium doesn't help either. It's no wonder Yahoo is going to hell in a handbasket. They're teaming up with Microsoft, right?

Edit: with a separate, new account it then worked, I can join the room.

hyde7
27th June 2011, 12:27
Yahoo is insane. They keep asking me to register yet again and again, I can't join the group, can't click chat. I am logged in, but it fails to accept me. When I click "Join the group" I get asked to create a profile. On that page...

Edit: with a separate, new account it then worked, I can join the room.
Hi Robin,
You sound like me sometimes when I'm trying to get my Yahoo Mail to load. :) I've been with Yahoo since 2000, and they have a "new and improved" email, but sometimes they're more 'goofy' than 'yahoo.'

I checked your new (?) registration, and it's for ymail.com. Is that the same as yahoo.com? (I thought that might be part of the problem, but that's probably your successful registration, right?) I know that gmail is googlemail in Germany for some reason. Anyway, I'm glad you were finally successful.

superkat
27th June 2011, 13:14
I will give it a go with a Yahoo account tomorrow! (That is, as soon as I have managed to swim my way out of the enormous great pool of sweat in which I currently flounder) (Lovely ;))

windz
27th June 2011, 22:39
Lee, forgive my ignorance, but what do you mean by "create an alias for my Yahoo account"? I know what an alias is in computing, but I'm not sure why I would create an alias for an email account (other than to be anonymous?). Could you explain that for me?

The bottom line seems to be: In order to access our new chat room, a user must (1) be registered with a Yahoo! Mail account, and (2) log in using that account and not an alias.

Alias is a nickname that you can choose to be identified with during chatting on Yahoo Messenger / Chat, instead of using the primary ID. (At least, that is what I understand from reading the FAQs. I hardly use Yahoo chat / messenger and was only trying it out when the chat room here was open.) Let's say that your Yahoo ID is actually jacky123. You can create an alias JackRipper to be linked to that account and log in using that alias instead of jacky123. So you'll be chatting as JackRipper instead of jacky123. But that doesn't seem to be working in the forum's chatroom. I'm not sure if I'm explaining it correctly, so here's the link (http://help.yahoo.com/tutorials/prof/prof/prof_identity3.html) to the Yahoo's explanation.

Lee

Robin
27th June 2011, 23:52
Hi Robin,
You sound like me sometimes when I'm trying to get my Yahoo Mail to load. :) I've been with Yahoo since 2000, and they have a "new and improved" email, but sometimes they're more 'goofy' than 'yahoo.'

I checked your new (?) registration, and it's for ymail.com. Is that the same as yahoo.com? (I thought that might be part of the problem, but that's probably your successful registration, right?) I know that gmail is googlemail in Germany for some reason. Anyway, I'm glad you were finally successful.

For some reason the bitpicker moniker was already taken with yahoo.com (maybe by myself at an earlier date? Who knows?), but ymail.com is one of the alternatives Yahoo offers. I have yet to see useful and fully functional webmailers. They just can't beat a client software like Thunderbird.

I'm not going to use the e-mail account anyway, it was just to get in. The approach before that was trying to connect to Yahoo via Facebook. That seems to be completely goofy to the point of non-functionality. And the way Yahoo is making news these days only with the features it is dropping I suppose it is going the way of the Dodo soon.

I notice you asked further down the thread: Noscript is a JavaScript and Flash-blocking extension for Firefox which cancels most of the attack vectors for malware distribution on the net. But on sites where you need scripts to function you have to enable scripting, which you sometimes forget easily.

Heide
28th June 2011, 08:37
At this point (after seeing Kat's screen shot [lustig, Kat!] and reading various emails & posts) I'm beginning to think it may have to do with having a Yahoo ID (with a Yahoo email account). I checked to see the IDs for two AGN forum people who I know were able to use the new chat room. Both have a Yahoo email account.

So my question now is this: Is there anyone without a Yahoo email ID who has been able to access our new Yahoo chat? If not, that may be the problem. If this turns out to be the case, then I will revise the registration instructions to say that new chat members must sign up with a Yahoo email address. Since that is free, it's not a problem – other than adding one more hurdle, however slight, to the sign-up process.

Ethel, what is your Yahoo ID? (So I can look it up.) If you were able to get into any Yahoo chat, then you also should be able to get into ours – so I'm still a bit puzzled.

Comments?

I'm still down here in FL where it's ungodly hot and humid, but it's interesting reading all the suggesions. I have about 3 or 4 Yahoo email mail accounts which I never use and umpteem names because, like Robin, I kept getting notices that I needed a new one. I just know that once you have one, it never goes away. :( I have no idea what my "primary" name is. When I get back home, I'll try different sign ins. I do know that when I was able to get into other chat rooms, I couldn't get into ours. In fact, I can't remember now if it even showed up. Will let you know after I experiment further.

hyde7
29th June 2011, 11:59
For Ethel and Robin (and all): Yahoo has been having more problems than usual lately. I went to my German-Way Yahoo Groups site this a.m. only to discover that all the previous posts (about 75) for the month of June are MISSING! Gone. Verschwunden! I contacted support, but that can take forever.

Anyway, in the Yahoo support area I found this notice under "known issues", which sounds like what happened to Robin:

Sign-in loop when trying to join a Yahoo! Group

Last Updated: June 20, 2011


At this time, users who have logged in via a Facebook or Google ID may experience issues when trying to join or sign in to a Yahoo! Group. Because of a bug, these users are taken into a sign-in loop that doesn't allow you to successfully sign in. Our product team is working to resolve this issue now as top priority, and we hope to have a complete resolution soon. We apologize for any inconvenience.


In the meantime, as a workaround, you can avoid the sign-in loop by signing in with a Yahoo! ID and password, rather than clicking the "Sign in using Facebook" or "Sign in using Google" options. If you don't have a Yahoo! ID, you can sign up for one here. Note that after you have followed the process of creating a username and ID, you will need to link your new Yahoo! ID to the email address with which you are subscribed to the group (this will link your group subscription). To do this, please follow these steps:


1. Go to the Yahoo! Groups homepage and sign in with your new Yahoo! ID and password.


2. Go to the Yahoo! Groups Membership Wizard.


3. Click on the "Add an email address" link, and follow the steps to add an email address to your account. You will need to verify your email address before the link is official. For more information on verifying your email address, please visit this help page.


After you have followed these steps, you should be able to access your group from the My Groups page (again, signed in with your new Yahoo! ID and password).
--------------------------

Another "known issue" I saw mentions the "alias" matter: Why do I get the "chat is unavailable” error?

Last Updated: February 02, 2011


If you receive the error message, "Chat is unavailable,” but the chat feature has been enabled for your group, the most likely reason is that you are signed in with an alias. At this time, you can't access chat if you are signed in with an alias -- you can only access this feature if you are signed in with your primary Yahoo! ID. To access chat, you will need to sign out, and then sign back in using your primary Yahoo! ID.
-------------------------

Well, all I want is a chat room that we have some control over, rather than the typical "wild west" chat room. After July, we'll see what the situation is.

Robin
29th June 2011, 23:36
I don't know whether that is feasible, but how about this: stinto.net

It's a throwaway chat. The first person to create a chat room there gets a URL. That could be posted here. Anyone who wants to join the chat can follow that URL. Some time after everyone has left the chat it gets removed eventually. Of course the obvious drawback is that you cannot enter a chat at a specific, unchanging location, and then just hang around till someone else comes in. But with no registration and no log in needed it might actually be an easier solution, everybody just has to check in the forum whether there is a chat currently or not. And when the chat is closed, then the URL pointing there should be removed here.

Heide
30th June 2011, 17:49
For Ethel and Robin (and all): Yahoo has been having more problems than usual lately. I went to my German-Way Yahoo Groups site this a.m. only to discover that all the previous posts (about 75) for the month of June are MISSING! Gone. Verschwunden! I contacted support, but that can take forever.

Anyway, in the Yahoo support area I found this notice under "known issues", which sounds like what happened to Robin:

Sign-in loop when trying to join a Yahoo! Group

Last Updated: June 20, 2011


At this time, users who have logged in via a Facebook or Google ID may experience issues when trying to join or sign in to a Yahoo! Group. Because of a bug, these users are taken into a sign-in loop that doesn't allow you to successfully sign in. Our product team is working to resolve this issue now as top priority, and we hope to have a complete resolution soon. We apologize for any inconvenience.


In the meantime, as a workaround, you can avoid the sign-in loop by signing in with a Yahoo! ID and password, rather than clicking the "Sign in using Facebook" or "Sign in using Google" options. If you don't have a Yahoo! ID, you can sign up for one here. Note that after you have followed the process of creating a username and ID, you will need to link your new Yahoo! ID to the email address with which you are subscribed to the group (this will link your group subscription). To do this, please follow these steps:


1. Go to the Yahoo! Groups homepage and sign in with your new Yahoo! ID and password.


2. Go to the Yahoo! Groups Membership Wizard.


3. Click on the "Add an email address" link, and follow the steps to add an email address to your account. You will need to verify your email address before the link is official. For more information on verifying your email address, please visit this help page.


After you have followed these steps, you should be able to access your group from the My Groups page (again, signed in with your new Yahoo! ID and password).
--------------------------

Another "known issue" I saw mentions the "alias" matter: Why do I get the "chat is unavailable” error?

Last Updated: February 02, 2011


If you receive the error message, "Chat is unavailable,” but the chat feature has been enabled for your group, the most likely reason is that you are signed in with an alias. At this time, you can't access chat if you are signed in with an alias -- you can only access this feature if you are signed in with your primary Yahoo! ID. To access chat, you will need to sign out, and then sign back in using your primary Yahoo! ID.
-------------------------

Well, all I want is a chat room that we have some control over, rather than the typical "wild west" chat room. After July, we'll see what the situation is.

EUREKA! I got a new Yahoo address, new username and a new GermanWay account with the new Yahoo address and I got into the chat room! Maybe it will still work tomorrow. :D I even managed to keep my "Heide" identification, although with an underscore and a number.

Nicki
30th June 2011, 22:44
Jaaaaa, Heide_100! :D:D:D

Heide
1st July 2011, 03:32
Jaaaaa, Heide_100! :D:D:D

Danke!

Heide Nr. 100 :D