PDA

View Full Version : Guten Tag!

guenever
27th July 2011, 07:50
Hi!

I am not going to write in German because I am not there yet! Over 15 years ago I took German in high school--3 years. But, we never had to learn any vocabulary, so at a certain point, when we were supposed to be reading and understanding German--I was lost. Our teacher, an Austrian, left it up to us students to learn the vocab on our own without quizzes. Well, as a teacher now--I know that kids aren't going to learn vocab for fun! Then I took a year of German in college. I love the language and this summer I decided to study it. I have three books--German Demystified by Ed Swick and a grammar exercise book by him as well. Also, I have German Made Simple. I am enjoying it. A lot of it is familiar to me--the pronunciation and conjugation--but some of it is confusing. I feel like if I could just ask someone I would get it. So here I am. I am a high school English teacher who enjoys studying German, pixel art, Barbie collecting, television, and Webkinz. And I write way too much! So I am looking forward to being a part of the forum. :)

Heide
27th July 2011, 08:58
Hallo Guenever!

Willkommen im Forum! We're glad that you have found this forum. We have many people here who are anxious to help you further "demystify" this language. I see you've already made use of our "Vocabulary and Grammar" section. :) You may work with a tutor if you'd like. Just post a message in the Beginning Tutoring folder under your name. There you can ask all the questions you want, as well as practice writing. Of course, you can always ask questions elsewhere and take part in any discussions which interest you. There are also exercises you can do for additional practice. If you write in German, you have to add 'kw' (for 'Korrekturen willkommen') at the end of your message. (except in your tutoring thread, where corrections are expected).

By the way, in this forum one can never write TOO much. :D