PDA

View Full Version : Hello! I need some recommendations, please.

n107
6th August 2011, 21:24
I am a complete beginner to the German language but I'm eager to start studying. The reason for this desire is... unknown. Every so often in my life I get the urge to do something that I never would foresee me wanting to do and it always leads me to new and amazing experiences. For example, one day I suddenly felt compelled to study Japanese for no reason. Now I'm in my seventh year of living in Japan. I don't question the little voice that drives me to undertake these endeavors as I've learned to sit back and see what fate has in store for me.

Now, it would appear, as if I'm to study German. However, I need some help (obviously). Unlike when I first jumped head first into Japanese, I'm having a difficult time finding a good self-study text/workbook. Whereas there are a multitude of easily found and recommended texts for Japanese, I really haven't seen anything stand out in my search for a German source.

So if anyone here can tell me of any good books aimed at the self-learned, I'd be grateful for any recommendations. Are there books that many people find indispensable? Are there any to avoid? That is what I'm looking to learn from all of you experts here.

Also, though I've found a number of online learning sites, I'm a much more old fashioned person who needs a book that I can touch and carry with me all day. The internet is fine for augmenting my studies but I need a tangible object to really get the most out of my undertaking.

Thanks for reading this far, if you did. And thanks in advance for any assistance.

-n

Heide
7th August 2011, 07:25
Willkommen im Forum!