PDA

View Full Version : Howdy Y'all, my name is Jack

jacktheknife
15th August 2010, 13:47
Gentlemen, and Ladies too,

Howdy from Texas and it sure is hot.
I studied German at the Delphi forums for about a year and am sad to see it gone
or whatever happened. Bye Y'all

This is really my first post here on the new forum and I wanted to say hi.
I have a sentence I am working on and I have avoided learning the number 25,
and become familiar with it enough to use it in conversation.
{All the other numbers too of course} but can't put it off any longer.

Please read this and check it for proper grammar, and gender
and let me know. Sure is easier to learn something the right way at first,
rather than learn it the wrong way, then try and forget it and re-learn it right.
That old ghost word is always in there!!!

I have always wanted to tell people I am of 25% German blood.
And how my Great Grand Father on my Mothers side
came to Rains county Texas in the 1880's or 90's
{Grandmother was born there in 1898}

So here goes...

Ich habe blot die Deutsch fünfunzwanzig prozente
Now I have done the best I can with the wording and gender,
but please someone check this out and the pronounciation of prozente.

Thank you...?

Jack the Knife
Sandymay und von Dukedog too

lewis82
15th August 2010, 14:54
What about "ein viertel" instead of "fünfundzwanzig prozent"?

Willkommen hier :)

hyde7
15th August 2010, 15:09
I studied German at the Delphi forums for about a year and am sad to see it gone or whatever happened. Bye Y'all...
Hi Jack, this IS the old Delphi German forum! Willkommen im Forum!

You wrote "Ich habe blot die Deutsch fünfunzwanzig prozente" -- and I think you were trying to say: Ich habe fünfundzwanzig Prozent deutsches Blut. But there are probably better ways to express this idea that you are 1/4 German heritage.

PS - As noted in your membership email, the first 2-3 posts by all new forum members are moderated, which is why your post did not appear right away.